An Ode to “Fine”

~ An Ode to Fine ~

motherT

I release myself from obsessively caring about my size. 

As women we spend ENTIRELY too much time worrying about our bodies: the flatness of our tummies, the depth of our collar bones, the firmness of our thighs.

But the reality is, I’m not a beauty queen.

I wasn’t put on this earth to be aesthetically pleasing–at best it’s a pleasant coincidence ;)

And to spend my time working to be that is taking away from what I was actually put on this earth for.

So this is an ode to fine.

To the tummy that gets a little roll (or 2…) when I sit down, and my one buttcheek showing early signs of dimpling that drove me into a squatting frenzy for about a week. (Would’ve been longer but, I’m lazy. LOL).

To less twisting and back arching and holding our breath for photos. Can we please just not be That Girl anymore?

It’s fine. We look fine.

My body may not be worthy of the cover of magazines, but so far I haven’t been paid for that either. And it’s not currently one of my goals. So what for?

I look fine. Maybe even better! …But the media has done a great job of streamlining our ideas of “acceptable” into one tiny little box.

It’s exhausting. It’s unproductive. And it does nothing for our health, mood, or overall well-being.

We all know how it goes. Dieting and working out and meal prepping and meal planning quickly begin to take over your entire days. Your sanity is usually the next to go.

dieting

Biding your time for the next meal, or shake, or protein pack…it’s ridiculous! That’s all good and well for those who do that as their careers.

But why on earth are the rest of us subjecting ourselves to this, when we have entire other responsibilities we ought to be putting our energy into more fully??

As long as I live healthily, with more water and protein and veggies and fewer burgers and fries and bottomless brunches (within reason, of course), I vow to embrace my body at “fine”.

Because not everyone was meant to be supermodel “stellar,” and right now, I have bigger concerns.

I’m here to change the world. I can’t do that when I’m hungry ;)

“Mother Teresa didn’t walk around complaining about her thighs. She had shit to do.” 👊

4 thoughts on “An Ode to “Fine”

Thoughts?

